Date: Tmp: 中文版
China Kunqu Museum

China Kunqu Opera Museum

Date:2016-03-31 15:37:00Edit:Bureau of Culture, Broadcast and Publication of Suzhou

Share:

  China Kunqu Opera Museum, located in Pingjiang Historic Block in the ancient city of Suzhou, is home to the collections of different kinds of cultural relics, ancient books and rare historic documents of Kunqu Opera and other operas. China Kunqu Opera Museum is the only professional art museum nationwide that boasts the integration of history, culture and art of Kunqu Opera with display, exhibition, preservation, utilization and research as its missions. It has created a harmonious humanistic environment for Kunqu Opera originating from the ancient city of Suzhou.

  China Kunqu Opera Museum grew out of Quanjin Guild Hall or Shanxi Guild Hall, a Major Historical and Cultural Site Protected at the National Level. It was originally founded outside the Chang Gate in Shantang Street in Emperor Qianlong reign of Qing Dynasty in 1765, and rebuilt  in Emperor Guangxu reign in 1879 by Shanxi merchants. In 1986, Suzhou Municipal Government decided to set up Suzhou Museum of Opera and Theater which was officially opened in October of the same year. On May 18, 2001, Kunqu Opera was included in the list of the first batch of Human Beings’ Verbal and Intangible Cultural Heritage Representative Work. With the approval of Ministry of Culture and Government of Jiangsu Province, to better protect and spread Kunqu Opera, it was decided that China Kunqu Opera Museum would be established on the site of Quanjin Guild Hall based on Suzhou Museum of Opera and Theater. The newly established China Kunqu Opera Museum was officially opened in November 2013. Quanjin Guild Hall was listed as a Major Historical and Cultural Site Protected at the National Level in 2006. At the 38th World Heritage Convention held in Doha, capital of Qatar on Jun 22, 2014, as a heritage site of the Grand Canal of China in Suzhou, it was included in the list of World Heritage Site.

  Add: No. 14, Zhongzhangjia Lane

  Opening hours: 9:00-16:30 from Tuesday to Sunday, closed on Mondays.

  Tel: 0512-67273334